January 6th, 2013

Help Amber Win The ModCloth Fashion Contest!

Nick Chatter
Amber ModCloth Dresses contest

Hey guys! Shortstory: Please help my wonderful girlfriend Amber by going to her ModCloth contest page, viewing the video we made, and VOTING for her.

Full story:There is a contest going on right now, from a pretty popular online fashion store called ModCloth. The contest requires you to make either a picture or a 2-minute (or less) video, showcasing your style. If you win, you get a year of dresses; one a month! My girlfriend Amber absolutely LOVES this store and has been shopping at it for over a year. Her wardrobe is filled with vintage style dresses, pants, and tops. When she heard about this contest, she thought of my experience in film making. So we got together on a cloudy afternoon and created a video, which she entered in the contest.

The voting, however, is sort of a popularity contest, so there a few entries that are crushing the competition simply because they have a lot of friends. Now, here’s what I have for you guys. If you would like to help me and Amber out, follow this link to Amber’s ModCloth Fashion Video , and vote! You have to have a Facebook account. Once you follow the link, you have to “like” the ModCloth page to view the entries, and then at the link, you will find our video. It’s called “Amber”. In the bottom right near the comments, there is a big blue button that says “Vote”.

Amber ModCloth carefree fashion Amber ModCloth fashion by pond
Amber ModCloth fashion by lake Amber ModCloth fashion with kitt

We worked really hard on it, and think Amber’s style shines through. If you want to watch the video first before you decide, go for it! I think you’ll enjoy it. And again, MAKE SURE YOU HIT the VOTE button, not just LIKE. Thanks so much guys! I’ll try to get on here a little more often and keep you guys interested. Have a great day!

Filed under: Other Things | Posted on January 6th, 2013 by Nick | No Comments »

August 25th, 2011

The Replacement Theory – Action Short Film

Filmmaking
Replacement Theory Abakan Pictures and Diamond View Studios

This summer my father and I, under my film company name, Abakan Pictures, teamed up with Diamond View Studios to enter the Action Film Challenge in Tampa. The challenge is to make an action film in two weeks, 10-15 minutes long. Unfortunately, we started a week late, didn’t even meet to talk about it till 5 days in. We were racing the clock on the final night, but we did it, and were very pleased with how it turned out.

We filmed every night for a week, in different locations. The basement of an office building, in the woods, at a college, in a hotel. Check out The Replacement Theory, and let me know what you think:

Filed under: Filmmaking | Posted on August 25th, 2011 by Nick | 4 Comments »

June 12th, 2011

Summer Creativity: Sunscreen Movie Camp

Filmmaking

Nick at Sunscreen Film Festival

As you know, it is summer! Now I don’t know about you guys, but I feel like doing something fun for 2011. My idea of fun, as you may have read in one of my earlier posts, is making a film. And now that its summer, it’s time for the summer 2011 Camp for Young Film-Makers! Put on by the Sunscreen Film Festival and Studio@620, along with some amazing people. I took this camp 2 years ago, when I first decided I wanted to pursue film, but this camp BLEW MY MIND. I thought I knew my way around, but just in these two weeks, I learned so much and got so much experience, that I have never looked at film the same way. It’s a very hands-on course in which, the first week, teens learn about cinema and production through actually writing a script and revising it. At the end of the first week, two scripts are chosen. The next week, the teens are split into two groups, given a script, and go to work on the production of their short film! At the end of the 2 weeks, the films are showcased for all the family and friends to come see.

Putting all of the knowledge they have collected in the previous week to good use, the films are always entertaining to watch. A huge learning experience, designed just the right way so that the kids don’t lose interest, and actually remember the information. Actually making the film implants the basics firmly in the brain. I personally think this camp changed my life, and helped me decide that film is really what I want to do. So it can also help kids decide if they really want to pursue film, or if they are just looking for a fun way to spend 2 weeks of their summer. Either way it’s definitely worth the money, and I would recommend it to anyone.

The main teacher and program head is Dave DeBorde; a personal role model of mine. He’s very funny and laid back and it’s not hard for the kids to quickly warm up to the idea of being outspoken and letting their creativity shine. He sort of took me under his wing by putting me on my first actual film set after the camp was over. He was directing, and on that team I met a few other college filmmakers, and worked with them, and since then I have branched out and even won awards for some short films in film festivals. So that’s just a little idea on how big this camp could be for you! Aside from Dave, he usually brings in students of his that are experienced filmmakers, to lend a hand and some advice. So you really are in good hands with this camp. Anything you don’t know, they most likely do, so ask! All of the equipment is supplied for you so don’t have to worry about anything but the information, and your vision! The participants also take turns directing, lighting, or operating the camera, and the whole thing is a blast!

All in all, this camp is pretty much the best summer camp I’ve ever experienced. “Camp” is sort of an understatement. It’s more of a workshop, where you can have fun and learn at the same time. The cost is 500 dollars. But wait! There is a film contest for the best film submitted before the camp, which starts July 18th. The winner gets a scholarship to the camp! I think I know what I’ll be doing. ;)

Sunscreen Camp page
Sunscreen Camp Scholarship Contest

To view the film my team made at the camp in 2008, check out The Perfect Guy:

Filed under: Cool Websites, Filmmaking | Posted on June 12th, 2011 by Nick | No Comments »

December 20th, 2010

Adobe Photoshop CS5 – Five Cool Features

Cool Web Sites

What can be done with Photoshop in the new CS5 is just sick. To think of the hours saved with some of these features. I wish I could afford it. Thanks to TerryWhiteTechBlog for the demo. Check out these five amazing tools:

Filed under: Cool Websites | Posted on December 20th, 2010 by Nick | 4 Comments »

December 13th, 2010

Star Wars Review – By a 3 Year Old

Video Game Review

Check out Emily. She rocks with her review of Star Wars…

Filed under: Movie Reviews | Posted on December 13th, 2010 by Nick | 4 Comments »

Categories

Filmmaking

Follow Me?

Tags

action addicting games animation april fools book Book Reviews cloverfield cloverfield monster cloverfield toy comics contest Cool Websites events extreme sports fantasy fashion Filmmaking flash games humor indie film kid art kid bloggers kid blogging kid blogs kids book review marvel mix music miyazaki mmorpg games movie-making Movie Reviews movie trailers music News Nick Chatter online games photoshop rants robert pattinson rpg games sunscreen tv video video games widget

Archives

Links

Copyright © 2014 Kid Reviewer | Movie Reviews | Book Reviews.

Wordpress themes